Humanities

About the Department

The Humanities department offers a wide and diverse area of interests, as reflected by the scope of associated Internet links devoted to it.

The humanities involve the study of human beings and their culture. The focus is on the intellectual, artistic, spiritual, valuational, intuitive, logical, emotional, and physical development of the person. Included in the humanities are both reflective studies and the expression and communication of thoughts, feelings, and values, particularly through the creative and performing arts.

The Humanities Department of BGSU Firelands includes full-time faculty in English (composition, literature, creative writing, and technical writing), popular culture, women's studies, journalism, French, Spanish, Canadian studies, art, art history, speech and interpersonal communications, theatre, library, philosophy, and religious studies. Several more areas are added through our use of part-time faculty. It is possible for a student to receive an Associate of Arts degree by emphasizing one or more of the areas of the humanities, either for personal improvement or en route to a bachelor's degree at the BGSU main campus or at another university.

The Humanities Department is the BGSU Firelands home for the Early Childhood Studies bachelors degree in partnership with the BGSU College of Education.

Majors & Programs

Majors & Programs

Jolene Beuhrer

Dr. Jolene K. Buehrer

  • Position: Teaching Professor of English
  • Phone: 419.372.0663
  • Email: joleneb@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 300D George Mylander Hall
No photo available

Dr. Theodore Bach

  • Position: Associate Professor of Philosophy
  • Phone: 419.372.0937
  • Email: tbach@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 316J George Mylander Hall
No photo available

Mr. Kyle Closen

  • Position: Director, Clark Inclusive Scholars Program
  • Phone: 419.372.0613
  • Email: kclosen@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 300F GMH
Kate Dailey

Dr. Katharine K. Dailey

  • Position: Associate Dean
    Associate Professor of English & Women's Studies
    Deputy coordinator Title IX
  • Phone: 419.372.0664
  • Email: kdailey@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 112 Foundation Hall
FC-Pathways-Megan-Green

Ms. Megan Green

  • Position: Assistant Teaching Professor
    Pathways Program
  • Phone: 419.372.5515
  • Email: mmgreen@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 4004 Central Hall, BGSU Main Campus
June Harris

Ms. June Haynes

  • Position: Assistant Teaching Professor of Inclusive Early Childhood Education
  • Phone: 419.372.0868
  • Email: jsouthw@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 324F George Mylander Hall
No photo available

Dr. Jacqueline A. Justice

  • Position: Associate Professor of English
  • Phone: 419.372.0616
  • Email: jjustic@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 321 George Mylander Hall
andy-in-front-of-cpc

Dr. Andrew J. Kurtz

  • Position: Dean and Associate Professor of English
  • Phone: 419.372.0633
  • Email: kurtz@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 112 Foundation Hall
MCComas

Dr. Sue Ellen McComas

  • Position: Associate Professor of Speech Communication
  • Phone: 419.372.0940
  • Address: 320C George Mylander Hall
No photo available

Mr. John C. Moor

  • Position: Teaching Professor of English and Journalism
  • Phone: 419.372.0647
  • Email: cmoor@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 311A George Mylander Hall
Patricia Prunty

Dr. Patricia A. Prunty

  • Position: Assistant Professor of Inclusive Early Childhood Education
  • Phone: 419.372.0784
  • Email: pprunty@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 313 George Mylander Hall
No photo available

Mr. Matt Rome

  • Position: Assistant Teaching Professor, English
  • Phone: 419.372.5516
  • Email: mrome@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 4006 Bus. Admin. Annex
David Sapp

Mr. D. David Sapp

  • Position: Professor of Art
  • Phone: 419.372.0866
  • Email: dsapp@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 328D George Mylander Hall
Ray Schuck

Dr. Raymond I. Schuck

  • Position: Chair and Associate Professor of Communication
  • Phone: 419.372.0929
  • Email: rschuck@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 324A George Mylander Hall

    Ph.D., Arizona State University
Joe Wagner

Dr. Joseph B. Wagner

  • Position: Associate Professor of English
  • Phone: 419.372.0615
  • Email: wagnejb@bgsu.edu
  • Address: 323 George Mylander Hall

Updated: 10/18/2021 05:23PM